Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

Share this
OSU-CHS News > 2016

April 7, 2016

OSU Center for Rural Health distributes SHIP grants to 57 rural hospitals

Oklahoma State University Center for Rural Health recently distributed more than $500,000 in federal grants to 57 rural Oklahoma hospitals to support their efforts in reducing health care costs and implementing health care reforms.

“Our mission is to promote and improve access to health care services for rural Oklahomans,” said Corie Kaiser, director of the Oklahoma Office of Rural Health. “These grants are critical to support small rural hospitals as they provide medical care in underserved areas.”

The Small Hospital Improvement Program (SHIP) grants are funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration of the United States Department of Health and Human Services. The grants help small hospitals implement reforms outlined in the Affordable Care Act.

OSU distributed $517,779 to small rural hospitals across the state. Each hospital was awarded $8,297 for implementing value-based purchasing and measures to reduce hospital readmissions and medical quality.

To qualify for the program, hospitals must have 49 or fewer staffed beds and be located outside of a metropolitan statistical area or within a rural census tract.

The OSU Center for Rural Health, part of the OSU Center for Health Sciences, trains physicians and other health care providers and is dedicated to increasing access to health care in rural Oklahoma.

The following hospitals in Oklahoma received SHIP grants:

  • Arbuckle Memorial Hospital
  • Atoka County Medical Center
  • Beaver County Memorial Hospital
  • Blackwell Regional Hospital
  • Bristow Medical Center
  • Carnegie Tri-County Municipal Hospital
  • Choctaw County/City of Hugo Hospital Authority
  • Choctaw Nation Health Care Authority
  • Cimarron Memorial Hospital
  • Cleveland Area Hospital
  • Clinton Regional Hospital
  • Coal County General Hospital
  • Cordell Memorial Hospital
  • Craig General Hospital
  • Creek Nation Community Hospital
  • Drumright Regional Hospital
  • Eastern Oklahoma Medical Center Poteau
  • Elkview General Hospital
  • Epic Medical Center
  • Fairfax Community Hospital
  • Fairview Regional Medical Center
  • Great Plains Regional Medical Center
  • Harmon Memorial Hospital
  • Harper County Community Hospital
  • Haskell County Community Hospital
  • Hillcrest Hospital Henryetta
  • Holdenville General Hospital
  • Jane Phillips Nowata Health Center
  • Jefferson County Healthcare Authority
  • Latimer County General Hospital
  • Lindsay Municipal Hospital
  • Mayes County Medical Center
  • Memorial Hospital and Physician Group
  • Memorial Hospital of Texas County
  • Mercy Health Love County
  • Mercy Hospital El Reno
  • Mercy Hospital Healdton
  • Mercy Hospital Kingfisher
  • Mercy Hospital Logan County
  • Mercy Hospital Tishomingo
  • Mercy Hospital Watonga
  • Newman Memorial Hospital
  • Okeene Municipal Hospital
  • Pawhuska Hospital
  • Perry Memorial Hospital
  • Prague Community Hospital
  • Purcell Municipal Hospital
  • Pushmataha Hospital
  • Quartz Mountain Medical Center
  • Roger Mills Memorial Hospital
  • Seiling Municipal Hospital
  • Seminole Medical Center
  • Sequoyah Memorial Hospital
  • Share Medical Center
  • Stroud Regional Medical Center
  • The Physicians Hospital in Anadarko
  • Weatherford Regional Hospital

Return To News Index

OSU-CHS on Facebook OSU-CHS on Twitter OSU-CHS on Foursquare OSU Medicine on YouTube Google+