Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser.

OSU Center for Health Sciences News

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Students, Faculty and Staff Honored at Commencement, Banquet

Helm and WhitakerMore than 100 students received diplomas and an OSU Center for Health Sciences graduate and faculty member were honored Friday night during graduation at the Broken Arrow Performing Arts Center. The OSU A&M Board of Regents presented Tyler Whitaker with the Regents Distinguished Student Award and Dr. Harriet Shaw with the Clinical Science Distinguished Teaching Award.

During the Thursday night Awards Banquet at the DoubleTree Hotel at Warren Place, many graduates, faculty and staff were honored for their achievements over the past year.

Winners included Dr. Heather Sims Wheeler, Academic Excellence Award; Dr. Natalie Eiland, Clinical Excellence Award; Dr. Steven Harmon, Leadership and Service Award; Dr. Phillip Friesen, Mind, Body and Spirit Award.

Departmental awards were presented to Dr. Kaleb Veit, Anatomy and Cell Biology and Behavioral Sciences; Dr. Kyle Work, Biochemistry; Dr. Arun Thangaraju, Biomedical Sciences; Dr. Tara McComas, Family Medicine; Dr. Jacob Sutton, Internal Medicine; Dr. Annie Sutton, Microbiology; Dr. Natalie Eiland, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Dr. Spencer Cotterell, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine; Dr. Benjamin Roberts, Pathology; Dr. Susan Pitts, Pediatrics; Dr. Tyler Whitaker, Pharmacology; Dr. Phillip Friesen, Physiology; Dr. Corey Lynn Bryant, Radiology; Dr. Charity Holder, Dr. Amanda Reed and Dr. Laura Fluke, Rural Medicine; and Dr. Ricardo Aguilar, Surgery.

Alumni Recognition Awards were presented to Dr. Megan Wilson, Dr. Laura Fluke, Dr. Phillip Friesen and Dr. Kaleb Veit.

Members of the OSU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi were also recognized, including Dr. Phillip Friesen, Dr. Anne Sutton, Dr. Zachary Lovato, Dr. Kaleb Veit, Dr. Michael McClain, Dr. Heather Wheeler, Dr. Theron Risinger, Dr. John Whitaker, Dr. Benjamin Roberts and Dr. Kyle Work.

Dana Livingston, who retired as director of Student Affairs, was honored for her years of service to CHS by the Class of 2012. David Money, librarian at OSU-CHS, who is retiring in August, was presented with a certificate of appreciation for the Class of 2012. Lee Stidham, receptionist in Marketing and Communication Services, and Sherry Eastman, program specialist in Rural Health, were honored by the Class of 2012 for their support of the students.

Cowboy Stampede heading to Tulsa

The Tulsa Chapter of the OSU Alumni Association will host the Cowboy Stampede on Saturday, June 8 from 4-8 p.m. at Ritchie Ranch, 16850 S. 33rd West Ave., in Glenpool.

Outdoor activities include a barbeque supper, Jupiter Jumps, hay rides and pony rides. Pistol Pete will also be at the event. A $250 OSU scholarship will be given away to one high school junior, senior or 2012 graduate in attendance.

The cost is $12 for adult members, $8 for children (4-18) and free for kids under four. RSVP online before June 1 or call 918-704-0054 for more information.