Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser.

OSU Center for Health Sciences News

thursday, Aug. 29, 2013

OSU-CHS, OSU Medical Center recognize Speaker Shannon, House members

OSU Medical Center and OSU-CHS officials recognize the support of Speaker T.W. Shannon, left, and members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

OSU medical students and residents recognized Speaker T.W. Shannon and members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives for supporting the OSU Medical Center and its mission to serve rural and underserved Oklahoma during a special event on Aug. 27.

Reps. John Bennett, Lee Denney, Katie Henke, Fred Jordan, Kevin Matthews, Mark McCullough, Jeannie McDaniel, Skye McNiel, Jerry McPeak, Glen Mulready, Tom Newell, Jadine Nollan, Terry O’Donnell and Seneca Scott attended the event and toured the medical center with Shannon and OSU Center for Health Sciences and OSU Medical Center leaders.

Dr. Steffen E. Carey, chief resident of family medicine at OSU Medical Center, and Heather Hardebeck, MS-II, welcomed the honorees and highlighted the key role that the OSU Medical Center plays in recruiting and training future physicians for Tulsa and Oklahoma.

Shannon told those in attendance that he was proud of legislative action to invest in the medical center and encourage the growth of physicians in rural communities. The Oklahoma Legislature provided $13 million in funding for the medical center as part of the state budget approved in May.

“The services you are providing to this community and the services you hope to provide to future communities does not go without notice,” Shannon said. “We appreciate your efforts and stand behind you in support of your mission.”

Carey and Hardebeck presented Shannon and the House members with a framed picture of the medical center signed by OSU residents.

American Osteopathic Foundation to award five from OSU-COM at Honors 2013

AOF Logo

The American Osteopathic Foundation will recognize five medical students and the wife of a recent graduate from OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine during the organization’s “Honors” celebration in Las Vegas on Sept. 29.

Second-year medical students Anna Morgan and Rachael Pattison as well as Tiffany Palmer, MS-III, and Krystal Bell, MS-I, will each receive a Rossnick Humanitarian Grant. The grant provides funding to physicians and students who travel to underserved, underdeveloped or disaster-stricken areas to provide medical services.

Andrew J. Hale, MS-III, will receive a Welch Scholars Grant. The grant is awarded to one student from each college of osteopathic medicine to help defray costs during a student’s medical education. Recipients are chosen because of their outstanding academic achievement, participation in extracurricular activities, strong commitment toward osteopathic medicine and financial need.

Amanda A. Lee, spouse of Brian Lee, D.O., was selected as a recipient of the Donna Jones Moritsugu Memorial Award. The award is given to the spouse of a graduating student for their support during medical school. Lee was also recognized during the OSU-CHS annual awards banquet on May 16.

Behavioral brain circuits focus of First Friday Seminar in September


OSU Center for Health Sciences will host neuroscience researcher Arshad M. Khan, Ph.D., on Friday, Sept. 6 at noon in D-107 for the First Friday Seminar.

Khan, assistant professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Texas at El Paso, will present, “What's so spatial about behavioral control circuits in the mammalian brain?” The lecture will focus on the complexity of mapping circuits in the brain, specifically circuits that control appetite and metabolism.

As director of the UTEP Systems Neuroscience Laboratory, Khan studies the neural systems and has begun creating a theoretical and practical framework for describing feeding control circuits in the hypothalamus of the rodent brain.

The event is free and open to the public. Refreshments will be provided at 11:45 a.m.

Commitment to medicine

White Coat CeremonyAs a symbol of their commitment to the medical profession, 115 first-year Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine students received their white coats during a ceremony welcoming the future physicians. OSU medical students provide critical health care services to citizens in rural and underserved areas of Oklahoma and upon graduation will increase the number of physicians practicing in our state.